



Seventh National Meeting of China Matters

Participants

Mr Angus Armour, Managing Director and CEO, Australian Institute of Company Directors

Mr Anthony Bishop, President, Asia Pacific, Cochlear

Professor **Nick Bisley**, Head, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, La Trobe University; Member of Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr Michael Cannon-Brookes Sr, Director, Cannon-Brookes Consulting

Ms **Sarah Chidgey**, A/g Deputy Secretary, Criminal Justice and National Security Group, Attorney-General's Department

The Honourable **Steven Ciobo** MP, Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment; Member for Moncrieff, Queensland

The Honourable **Jason Clare** MP, Shadow Minister for Trade and Investment; Shadow Minister for Resources and Northern Australia; Member for Blaxland, New South Wales

Mr Dan Collins, Founder and Managing Director, Genesis Care

Ms **Natalie Cope**, CEO, Australia China Business Council (NSW); Member of Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr Geoff Culbert, CEO, Sydney Airport

Mr Nicholas Curtis AM, Executive Director, BBI Group; Co-founder and Director, E-Nome

Mr **Scott Dewar**, A/g Deputy Secretary, Strategic Policy and Intelligence, Department of Defence

Mr Craig Dower, CEO and Managing Director, Xenith IP Group

Professor Benjamin Eggleton, Director, The University of Sydney Nano Institute

Ms Joanne Farrell, Group Executive, Health, Safety & the Environment, Rio Tinto

Major General Adam Findlay AM, Special Operations Commander Australia

Mr **Graham Fletcher**, First Assistant Secretary, North Asia Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade; Member of Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr **William Forde**, Board Director, China Matters; Chair of Advisory Council, China Matters

Professor **Allan Gyngell** AO, National President, Australian Institute of International Affairs; Board Director, China Matters

Dr Chaibong Hahm, President, Asan Institute for Policy Studies, Seoul

Mr **Tim Harcourt**, Host, The Airport Economist; JW Nevile Fellow in Economics, University of New South Wales

The Honourable Dr **Peter Hendy**, Principal, Peter Hendy Consulting; Board Director, China Matters

Mr Lyall Howard, General Manager Government Relations, Australia Post

Ms Linda Jakobson, CEO and Founding Director, China Matters



O PERA AUSTRALI A

Mr Rory Jeffes, CEO, Opera Australia

Mr Grant King, President, Business Council of Australia

Mr **Allan McKinnon**, Deputy Secretary, National Security, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Ms **Katie Lahey**, Executive Chairman, Korn Ferry Australasia; Non-Executive Director, Star Entertainment

Mr **John O'Neill** AO, Chairman and Non-Executive Director, Star Entertainment; Member of Advisory Council, China Matters

Ms **Mercedes Page**, CEO, Young Australians in International Affairs; Intelligence Coordinator, Thales (China Matters Young Professionals representative)

Mr Andrew Parker, Partner and Asia Practice Leader, PwC; Board Director, China Matters

The Honourable **Stuart Robert** MP, Member for Fadden, Queensland

Mr Tony Shepherd AO, Chairman, Macquarie Specialised Management

Dr Heather Smith PSM, Secretary, Department of Industry, Innovation and Science

Mr David Spence, Non-Executive Director, NetComm Wireless; Director, Chairman, PayPal Aus

Senator Tim Storer, Senator, South Australia

Mr George Su, Managing Director, Silk Road Corporate Finance

Dr lan Watt AC, Chair, BAE Systems Australia

Professor **Michael Wesley**, Dean, College of Asia and the Pacific, Australian National University; Board Director, China Matters

Professor **Hugh White** AO, Professor of Strategic Studies, Australian National University; Member of Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr Max York, CEO, GE Australia

Session III Special Guests

Professor **Elanor Huntington**, Dean of Engineering and Computer Science, Australian National University

Dr Marlene Kanga AM, President, World Federation of Engineering Organizations

Mr **John Powers**, Chief Strategist, Omni Executive; Senior Executive, US Defence and Intelligence Service (retired)





Welcome Dinner, Special Guests

Mr John Bathgate, Senior Advisor, Defence Industry

Mr John Borghetti AO, Managing Director and CEO, Virgin Australia

Professor Stephen FitzGerald AO, Board Chair, China Matters

Ms Yoohyun Kim (Miky)

Mr Chris Moraitis PSM, Secretary, Attorney-General's Department

The Honourable **Christopher Pyne** MP, Minister for Defence Industry; Member for Sturt, South Australia (*keynote speaker*)

Observers

Ms Tanya Diesel, CEO, Aspirall

Mr Jeremy Stevens, Program Director, China Matters

China Matters Team

Ms Louisa Bochner, Event Coordinator, China Matters

Mr Nicholas Burkett, Intern, China Matters

Ms Jacinta Keast, Research Assistant, China Matters

Mr Jackson Kwok, Policy Analyst, China Matters

Mr Noah Vaz, Media Officer, China Matters

Ms Julie Zhu, Intern, China Matters

Ms Sophia Zou, Project Coordinator, China Matters



China Matters is grateful to our partners for their financial support