Timeline of key events in cross-Strait relations

- **1683** Qing empire annexes Taiwan, previously divided among Taiwan's Indigenous peoples, European and Chinese settlers. Ruled as a prefecture of Fujian Province until Taiwan Province established in 1887.
- **1895** Taiwan is ceded to Japan after the First Sino-Japanese War.
- **1945** Republic of China (ROC) assumes administration of Taiwan after Japan's defeat.
- **1947** 228 Incident, Kuomintang (KMT) troops kill tens of thousands of anti-government protestors, starting the White Terror period during which thousands were killed.
- **1949** People's Republic of China (PRC) founded, KMT evacuates to Taiwan. UN recognises ROC as sole legitimate representative of China. Martial law is imposed from 1949 to 1987.
- 1954 First Taiwan Strait Crisis, PRC seizes ROC controlled islands.
- 1958 Second Taiwan Strait Crisis, PRC shells ROC controlled islands.
- 1971 UN recognises the PRC as the legitimate representative of China, expelling the ROC.
- **1972** Shanghai Communique, US acknowledges that there is one China and Taiwan is part of China; US commits to peaceful settlement of the Taiwan issue by "the Chinese themselves".
- **1979** US-PRC Joint Communique, recognises the PRC and not the ROC as the sole government of China. US agrees to maintain only unofficial relations with Taiwan.
- **1979** US passes Taiwan Relations Act, which provides a legal basis for unofficial US-Taiwan relations and provides commitments to Taiwan's security and support through arms sales.
- **1982** US-PRC Joint Communique, declares US intent to gradually decrease arm sales to Taiwan. US Six Assurances policy promises to continue US support to Taiwan.
- 1987 Martial law lifted, visits by Taiwanese to family members in the mainland allowed.
- 1992 Meetings between PRC and ROC working officials result in the 1992 Consensus.
- **1995-96** Third Taiwan Strait Crisis, PRC conducts missile tests in the Taiwan Strait before Taiwan's first presidential election. In 1996 KMT candidate Lee Teng-hui is elected president.
- **2000** Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) candidate Chen Shui-bian elected president, ending 50 years of KMT rule.
- **2005** PRC Anti-Secession Law stipulates force against Taiwan if independence is declared.
- **2006** President Chen rescinds inauguration pledge by scrapping the declared National Unification Council.
- **2008** KMT's Ma Ying-jeou elected president. Taiwan and PRC restart official dialogue.
- **2014** Sunflower Student Movement, students occupy the parliament and halt the enforcement of the Cross-Strait Service Trade Agreement.
- **2015** Ma Ying-jeou meets Xi Jinping in Singapore, the first ever cross-Strait leaders meeting.
- **2016** DPP candidate Tsai Ing-wen elected president.
- **2020** Tsai Ing-wen re-elected president with a record number of votes.