



Third National Meeting of China Matters

Participants

Mr Paul Adams, Managing Director, Jemena

Mr Allan Behm, Director, Knowledge Pond; CEO FearLess Outreach

Mr Andrew Day, CEO, Hastings Funds Management

Mr John Denton AO, Partner and CEO, Corrs Chambers Westgarth

Mr Scott Dewar, First Assistant Secretary International Policy, Department of Defence

Mr William Forde, Chairman, Hastings Funds Management; Board Director, China Matters

Mr **John Fraser**, Secretary, the Treasury

Prof **Bates Gill**, Professor of Asia-Pacific Strategic Studies, School of Strategic and Defence Studies, Australian National University; Board Director, China Matters

RADM (Rtd) **James Goldrick** AO CSC, Adjunct Professor, ANU College of Asia and the Pacific; Non-resident follow, Lowy Institute

Mr **Allan Gyngell** AO, Visiting Fellow, National Security College, Australian National University; Board Director, China Matters

Prof **Hans Hendrischke**, Professor of Chinese Business and Management, University of Sydney Business School

Mr Lance Hockridge, Managing Director and CEO, Aurizon

Mr Philipp Ivanov, CEO, Asia Society Australia

Ms **Linda Jakobson**, Founding Director, China Matters; Visiting Professor, University of Sydney

Mr Arthur Kroeber, Managing Director and Head of Research, GaveKal Dragonomics

Mr **David Landers**, General Manager, East Asian Growth Markets Division, Australian Trade Commission (Austrade)

Mr **Tim Lane**, Chief Adviser for China Relations, Rio Tinto; Member of Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr **Paul Levins**, Senior Vice President Asia and Europe, Invention Development Fund, Investment Ventures

Mr Jason Yat-Sen Li, CEO, Yatsen Associates; Chairman, Vantage Asia Holdings

Mr Richard Maude, Director-General, Office of National Assessment

Mr **David Olsson**, China Practice Consultant, King & Wood Mallesons; Member of the Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr **John O'Neill** AO, Chairman, Echo Entertainment











Mr Jonathan Pain, Director, JP Consulting NSW; Member of Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr Andrew Parker, Deals Partner and Asia Practice Leader, PwC; Board Director, China Matters;

The Hon. **Tanya Plibersek** MP, Deputy Leader of the Opposition; Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Development

Prof **Richard Rigby**, Executive Director, Australian National University China Institute; Member of Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr Trevor Rowe AO, Chairman, Rothschild Australia

Mr **Laurie Smith**, Board Member, Australia China Business Council; Member of Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr Julian Snelder, Partner, Amiya Capital; Member of Advisory Council, China Matters

Dr Brendan Taylor, Head of Strategic and Defence Studies Centre, Australian National University

Mr Mark Thirlwell, Chief Economist, Austrade

Mr Brian Wilson, Chairman, Foreign Investment Review Board

Senator the Hon. **Penny Wong**, Leader of the Opposition in the Senate

Special Guests, Session III

Mr Michael Ahrens, Board Director, Transparency International Australia

Mr **Paul Jevtovic** APM, CEO, Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre (Austrac)

Special Guests, Dinner

Ms Frances Adamson, International Advisor to the Prime Minister

Mr **Duncan Challen**, Executive Director, NSW Department of Industry

Mr Craig Meller, CEO and Managing Director, AMP

Observers

Mr Stephen Baines, Chief Innovation Advisor & Executive Advisor to the Chairman, Aurizon

Mr Patrick Chan, Project Coordinator, China Matters

Ms Kendall Frearson, Manager, Asia Practice, PwC

Mr Chris Lanzit, China Matters

Mr Warren Tease, Principal Adviser, Macroeconomic Group, Treasury