



Fourth National Meeting of China Matters

Participants

Mr Peter Arkell, Managing Director, Carrington Day

Mr Grame Barty, Acting CEO; Executive Director, International Operations, AusTrade

The Honourable **Kim Beazley** AC, National President, Australian Institute of International Affairs; Senior Fellow, Perth USAsia Centre

Mr Peter Cai, Research Fellow, East Asia Program, Lowy Institute for International Policy

The Honourable **Bob Carr**, Director, Australia-China Relations Institute, University of Technology Sydney

Mr Justin Carroll, Managing Partner Perth, PwC Australia

Dr Jim Chalmers MP, Shadow Minister for Finance

Mr Robin Chambers AO, Senior Partner, Chambers and Company International Lawyers

Ms Natalie Cope, Chief Executive Officer, Australia China Business Council NSW Branch

Mr John Eastburn, Chairman, Grain Growers Ltd

Dr Stephen FitzGerald AO, Board Director, China Matters

Professor Gordon Flake, CEO, Perth USAsia Centre

Mr **Graham Fletcher**, First Assistant Secretary, North Asia Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade; Member of Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr William Forde, Board Director, China Matters; Non-Executive Director, Lynas Corp

Dr **Bates Gill**, Board Director, China Matters; Professor of Asia-Pacific Strategic Studies at the Strategic and Defence Studies Centre, Australian National University

Vice Admiral **Ray Griggs** AO CSC RAN, Vice Chief of the Defence Force Group

Mr **Allan Gyngell** AO, Board Director, China Matters; Adjunct Professor; Director of the Crawford Australian Leadership Forum, Crawford School of Public Policy, Australian National University

Mr **Adam Handley**, Managing Partner, Minter Ellison WA; President, Australia China Business Council (WA)

Mr Andrew Hastie MP, Member for Canning, Western Australia

Ms **Linda Jakobson**, Founding Director, China Matters; Visiting Professor, United States Studies Centre, University of Sydney

Ms **Katherine Jones**, Deputy Secretary, National Security and Emergency Management Group, Attorney-General's Department

Mr **Tim Lane**, Chief Adviser for China Relations, Rio Tinto; Member of Advisory Council, China Matters





Professor **Peter Leahy** AC, Founding Director, National Security Institute, University of Canberra; Member of Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr John O'Neill AO, Chairman and Non-Executive Director, Star Entertainment Group

Mr Allan McKinnon, Deputy Secretary, National Security, Department of Premier & Cabinet

Mr Andrew Parker, Board Director, China Matters; Deals Partner and Asia Practice Leader, PwC

Ms Linda Reynolds CSC, Senator for Western Australia

Mr Dennis Richardson AO, Secretary, Department of Defence

Professor **Richard Rigby**, Executive Director, China Institute, Australian National University; Member of Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr **Mike Smith OBE**, Advisor to the Board, former CEO, ANZ Banking Group; Senior Advisor, PwC Australia's Asia Practice

The Honourable **Stephen Smith**, Professor of International Law, The University of Western Australia; Board Director, Perth USAsia Centre

Mr Gene Tilbrook, Board Director, Woodside; Non-Executive Director, Orica

Mr **Peter Tinley** AM MLA, Western Australian Shadow Minister for Asian Engagement; Trade; Lands; Gascoyne; Goldfields-Esperance

Professor **Michael Wesley**, Incoming Dean, College of Asia and the Pacific, Australian National University; Chair of Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr **Andrew Whitford**, General Manager and Head of Greater China, Westpac Banking Corporation

Senator The Honourable **Penny Wong**, Leader of the Opposition in the Senate and Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs

Mr Mark Wray, Chief Executive Officer, Craig Mostyn Group

Observers

Ms Hannah Bretherton, Project Coordinator & Researcher, China Matters

Ms Jacinta Keast, Research Assistant, China Matters

Ms Lisa Leitch, Finance Officer, Perth USAsia Centre

Ms Courtney Pelkowitz, Program Assistant, Perth USAsia Centre

Mr Kyle Springer, Program Associate, Perth USAsia Centre





China Matters is grateful to our sponsors for their financial support