





## **First China Matters National Meeting**

22 May 2015

## **List of Participants**

Mr. **Angus Armour**, Deputy Secretary, NSW Trade & Investment

Prof. **Geremie Barmé**, Director, Australian Centre on China in the World, ANU; Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr. Peter Baxter, Deputy Secretary Strategy, Department of Defence

Prof. Nick Bisley, Executive Director, La Trobe Asia

Mr. Rod Brazier, Deputy Director-General, Office of National Assessments

Prof. **Kerry Brown**, Director, China Studies Centre, University of Sydney; Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr. Stephen Byron, CEO, Canberra Airport

Mr. Jason Fitts, Water Regulation, Essential Services Commission

Prof. **Stephen Fitzgerald** AO, former Ambassador to China; Board of Directors, China Matters

Maj. Gen. John Frewen AM, Head Military Strategic Commitments, Department of Defence

Mr. John Garnaut, Asia Pacific Editor, Fairfax Media; Advisory Council, China Matters

Dr. Bates Gill, CEO, United States Studies Centre; Board of Directors, China Matters

Mr. Paul Glasson, Chairman, Satori Investments, Shanghai

Mr. **Allan Gyngell** AO, Adjunct Professor, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU; former Director General, Office of National Assessments; Chairman, Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr. **David Irvine** AO, former Director General of Security (ASIO); Advisory Board, Centre for Military & Security Law, ANU

Ms. **Linda Jakobson**, Founding Director, China Matters; Visiting Professor, United States Studies Centre

Mr. Tim Lane, Chief Advisor – China Relations, Rio Tinto; Advisory Council, China Matters

Lt. Gen. **Peter Leahy** AC (Ret.), Director, National Security Institute; Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr. John McCarthy AO, National President, Australian Institute of International Affairs

Mr. Adam McKissack, Principal Adviser, Foreign Investment & Trade Policy Division, Treasury















Mr. **Rory Medcalf**, Head of College, National Security College, ANU; Non-resident Senior Fellow in Foreign Policy, Brookings Institution

Mr. **David Olsson**, China Practice Consultant, King and Wood Mallesons; Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr. **Andrew Parker**, Deals Partner and Asia Practice Leader, PwC; Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr. Peter Phillips, Director, National Press Club of Australia

Mr. Geoff Raby, Chairman and CEO, Geoff Raby & Associates; former Ambassador to China

Prof. **Richard Rigby**, Executive Director, China Institute, ANU; Associate Director, Australian Centre on China in the World, ANU

The Hon. Philip Ruddock MP, Member for Berowra; former Federal Minister

Mr. Laurie Smith, former Head of International, Austrade; Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr. Terry Snow, Chairman, Capital Airport Group

Mr. **Andrew Stoler**, former Deputy Director, World Trade Organisation; Advisory Council, China Matters

Mr. **Tom Switzer**, Lecturer and Research Associate, United States Studies Centre at the University of Sydney

Mr. Peter Varghese AO, Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr. Michael Wadley, Director, Austcham Shanghai; Director, Bellamy's Australia

Prof. **Michael Wesley**, Director, Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs, ANU; Advisory Council, China Matters

Prof. **Hugh White**, Professor of Strategic Studies, School of International, Political and Strategic Studies, ANU; Advisory Council, China Matters

## **Observers**

Ms. Anastasia Kapetas, PhD Scholar, Australian Centre on China in the World, ANU

Mr. Ryan Manuel, Strategic Research Fellow, Australian Centre on China in the World

Mr. David Murphy, PhD Scholar, Australian Centre on China in the World, ANU

Ms. **Eva O'Dea**, Research and Project Manager, China Matters

Mr. Graeme Read, PhD Scholar, Australian Centre on China in the World, ANU

Mr. Will Sima, PhD Scholar, Australian Centre on China in the World, ANU

Mr. **Neil Thomas**, Morrison Scholar, Australian Centre on China in the World, ANU; Research Assistant, China Matters

Mr. Thomas Williams, Morrison Scholar, Australian Centre on China in the World, ANU

Mr. Will Zou, Morrison Scholar, Australian Centre on China in the World, ANU







## Participants at the welcome dinner only

Mr. John Fraser, Secretary, Treasury

Mr. Mark Jansen, Partner, Strategy&

His Excellency Mr. **Zhaoxu Ma**, Chinese Ambassador to Australia

Mr. **Dennis Richardson** AO, Secretary, Department of Defence

Prof. Veronica Taylor, Dean, College of Asia and the Pacific, ANU